Board index » Just Guitars

Post subject: Back to a 330
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2014 2:26 am 

Hey all. So I have been playing a Montezuma brown 360 for about six years and after mulling things over I decided to sell it and try out something else. The 360 looked great and the sound through my Blues Deluxe always got compliments. The only downside was that the top E was so close to the edge of the fretboard it would frequently slip over. Certain songs became a pain. As I'm not really a lead guitar player, preferring to base my playing around arpeggios and open strings, it didn't affect me as much as it could have but it seemed to be getting worse so in the end I took the plunge for ...

A Gretsch G5420T in Cadillac Green. Amazing looks and tonally such an improvement over the earlier hollow G5120. Things were great for a few months. But ... something was missing. That Ric sound I'd based my rig and style around. The Gretsch sounded full and clear as a bell, but didn't send a shiver up my spine, didn't feel alive. After a year or so I found myself looking at Rics on the net at what I'd once had, wondering if I'd made a horrible mistake. Before I knew it the thought of putting the pennies together and trading back up to a Ric began to germinate ...

I knew I'd never afford a new 360 again and wanted that fresh feeling of getting one new out of the box. A 330 was all I'd be able to afford. I'm a sucker for a limited edition or something a bit different and I found a shop with three new 330s in Ruby going for a few hundred apiece less than the other stock colours. I sold the Gretsch for a few hundred more than I got it for (limited edition) and ordered the Ric, asking the shop guys to compare the three and sending the one with the best string spacing and to make sure the top E wasn't near the edge.