Board index » General Forum

Post subject: NEW TO RICKENBACKER AFAIR
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 4:16 am 

Hi to all!!
This is Nikos from Athens Greece and I am new to RICKENBACKER AFAIR!!!
Recently I bought a Vox AC30CC1 which I play with a Yamaha Pacifica 604W. To cheap for that amp? Some they say!
I always wanted a Fender Stratocaster, but after reading some articles about my AC30, I notice a strong connection between VOX and RICKENBACKER. Is that only a reason for Beatles nostalgic matter, or something more?
(Thow, I am not crazy about the Beatles music I do like Tom Pety sound a lot).
Any way, I have some simple questions about Rickenbacker.
I like to play the Blues a lot, but also I do like melody tunes. Mostly I am an "in home musician" hopping to gig someday outside my home!
So, is it better to go on a semi acoustic Rickenbacker electric guitar 'like the model 360', or to a solid one 'like the model 620'? How different do they sound?
Is the sound of Rickenbacker guitars very binding and different to my tastes, or is it a versatile, good sounding instrument? "Beautiful it is for sure!!!!"
I wish someone to reply me in a general way about Rickenbacker electric guitars afair.
I look forward for a reply!!!

Post subject: Re: NEW TO RICKENBACKER AFAIR
 Post Posted: Fri Sep 30, 2005 10:19 am 

Nikos, it's good to have you here. The first thing I will tell you is this: get a Rickenbacker. Love it, learn it, create music with it. You can pick up Fenders to supplement your tone pallette later on when you feel curious -but I promise you will always come back to your Ric!

There are differences in resonance and response between solid and semi-hollow/hollowbody guitars, that is undeniable. But, in my experience, you can make your semi-hollow (ie. Ric) sound like a solid body, but you can never coax semi-hollow tones out of a solid plank guitar. It's very subjective too, as far as taste and style are concerned.