Board index » General Forum

Post subject: Cheap Rickenbacker wanted
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 7:39 am 

I am a beginner guitarist looking for a cheap Rickenbacker 12 string but cannot afford any I see in a shop. I am desperate for that classic Rickenbacker sound. If anyone has one they want to sell to me under $500 I'll gladly think about the option but unfortunately I cannot make a promise I cannot keep.

Post subject: Re: Cheap Rickenbacker wanted
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:32 am 

fields, dude, I never ever thought I would be able to afford a Rickenbacker, and it took me years to figure out how to get a hold of one, but it paid off! The idea is this: start saving some dough until you have enough for one.
I know it sounds lame, it sure did to me (I know you're thinking that'll take years and years) but it works!! Have a little patience and some real determination to save some bucks and I'm telling you, you'll have that Ric a whole lot faster than you think! If you already have 500 clams for it you're not that far off.
Man, I can still remember how proud I was when I took the 4003FL out of the case! Hang in there dude, hope you're playing that Ric soon!

Post Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 8:32 am 

Your chances aren't too good, a used 650 goes for around $600, I wouldn't expect to see a used 12 for under $800. I'd say look for a really beat 1980s 620/12 or 330/12.

Good Luck!

Post Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 9:11 am 

cheap, rickenbacker, and 12 string...hmm I don't think i'll ever see those in a sentence again! Even if you can't pay in full for one, some places might offer financing, I think some of the online dealers do it. You might want to check it out.

Post Posted: Tue Sep 20, 2005 10:38 am 

Sorry if its not appropriate, but I see ebay has a few going for a reasonable price (so farso cheap, but I guess they are climbing).

http://cgi.ebay.com/1967-Rickenbacker-3 ... dZViewItem