Board index » General Forum

Post subject: Help me find my tone
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:19 am 

I'm new to the world of Rickenbacker, having spent the past 15 years in the Fender/Gibson Matrix. Fortunately, I took the red pill and I'm beginning to think outside my self-imposed box.

While playing my Les Paul and Telecaster, I find myself searching for a certain tone that they allow me to approach, but never quite attain to my satisfaction: Chimey jangle with a ton of sustain. The Tele has jangle, but lacks sustain. The Les Paul gets me closer. It's an LP Classic with those high-output ceramics. There's a good about of chime and sustain with these pickups, but I want more. I love hearing notes ring out and kind of float over everything, just hanging there seemingly forever, Does that make sense? It's tough to describe.

So my question: Which Rickenbacker gets me closer? And if the answer is "any of them," what models specifically should I explore?

Post subject: Re: Help me find my tone
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 1:37 am 

I would respectfully suggest searching out one of the 650 models. I think it would fit the bill very nicely.

Post Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 2:23 am 

Certainly, a 650 Ric sounds like it may suit you nicely.

I would like to suggest a 21 fret, 2 pickup, semi-hollow model as your ideal choice however. A 360V64 has all the chime and jangle some people associate with Rickenbacker, but it can also get positively MEAN when you want. The sustain and resonance are astounding. So you have plenty of chime, twang, and sustain on tap.

=noel=

Post Posted: Thu Sep 08, 2005 2:28 am